10.18 pc voting in first two hours in Bihar

Insight Online News

Patna, May 13 : An estimated 10.18 percent of 95.83 lakh voters exercised their rights in the first two hours of polling on five seats of Bihar on Monday during the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Sources at the office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said that 10.18 percent electorate exercised their franchise in first two hours of the polling. Maximum 11.61 percent polling was recorded in Darbhanga, followed by 11.11 in Samastipur, 10.26 in Munger, 9.31 in Ujiarpur and 8.86 percent in Begusarai.

A large number of electorate are waiting in long queues at booths for their turns to cast their votes. Women and first time voters are enthusiastic to exercise their franchise.

Union Ministers Giriraj Singh, Nityanand Rai, former JD(U) president Rajeev Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh are among star candidates whose fate would be sealed by voters in EVMs. A total of 55 candidates, including four women are in fray today.

Snags developed in EVMs at booth number 231 in Darbhanga and at booth number 251 in Ujiarpur Lok Sabha seat. Authorities were engaged in rectifying snags and restart polling.

Union Minister Giriraj Singh exercised his franchise at booth number 34 in Begusarai while Rajya Sabha member Ram Nath Thakur exercised his franchise in Samastipur Lok Sabha seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *