2 years imprisonment of 3 CPI-M leaders of Tripura upholds

Insight Online News

Agartala, May 18 : The District and Session Court of South Tripura on Thursday upheld the punishment of the lower court to three CPI-M leaders for a ruckus inside the courtroom and harassing a judge for having office during a strike called by Left parties on September 2, 2015.

The trial court earlier had convicted three accused leaders of CPI-M – Tapas Datta, Trilokesh Sinha, and Babul Debnath and awarded two years of rigorous imprisonment for attacking the courtroom and harassing the presiding judge Ruhi Das Paul in Belonia of South Tripura.

Police reached to spot following a distress call from the court and later, police registered a suo-moto case.

After a long hearing trial court convicted them under section 447 of IPC for criminal trespass, 353 and 332 for deterring public servants from discharging duty, and 34 for a criminal act in common intention and awarded them two years of rigorous imprisonment last year.

However, they moved to District and Sessions Court challenging the judgment, which upheld the lower court’s decision. The accused pleaded that they were not guilty in the case and to approach the high court seeking justice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *