4th BJP MLA in Tripura resigns protesting party’s misrule

Insight Online News

Agartala, Sep 23 : In a major setback for the ruling BJP in Tripura, five months ahead of assembly elections, the party’s legislator from 43- Karbook (ST) constituency Burba Mohan Tripura on Friday tendered his resignation from the assembly and joined royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman’s TIPRA Motha.

Just half an hour before the beginning of the monsoon session of the assembly, Burba Mohan accompanied by Pradyot Kishore and former BJP’s ally IPFT MLA Brishaketu Debbarma submitted his resignation to Speaker Ratan Chakraborty and announced to join TIPRA Motha.

“My last few years of association followed by becoming an MLA of BJP in 2018, I am not happy, rather suffocated in the congested environment and witnessing the lawlessness situation and people’s sufferings. I found BJP is speaking and doing something else, which I can’t adjust to. We joined BJP and contested elections to serve the people, especially my indigenous population believing the promises of party leaders but now it appears farce,” he stated.

However, Speaker Chakraborty said he has received the resignation letter and the decision would be taken after due process. The resignation letter didn’t contain the reason only said, “I hereby tender my resignation to the membership of Karbook Constituency Assembly and request you to kindly accept my resignation.”

However, assembly sources claimed while receiving the letter of resignation Speaker requested Burba Mohan to delay his resignation as only a few months are left before the end of the tenure of the current assembly and a last one-day session may be held to pass a possible vote-on-account at the end of the year.

Meanwhile, TIPRA Motha supremo Pradyot Kishore told the media that Burba Mohan joined his party and a few more BJP and its ally IPFT MLAs would join Motha soon.

Congress President Birjit Sinha while welcoming the decision of Burba Mohan said, “After Durga puja, many BJP MLAs would join Congress. Indications are very clear that BJP might not complete its full tenure because of violence, corruption, and vendetta politics of its leaders.”

Earlier, three BJP MLAs – Sudip Roybarman, Asish Saha, and Asish Das resigned from the party and assembly as well protesting the misrule of former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and the indulgence of some central BJP leaders to him. But Roybarman won the by-elections on a Congress ticket.

Similarly, IPFT MLA Brishaketu Debbarma resigned more than a year ago and joined TIPRA Motha but the Speaker didn’t accept his resignation till last week to evade the by-poll.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.