All arrangements in place for Huzurabad Assembly bypoll in Telangana on Oct 30

Insight Online News

Hyderabad, Oct 29 : All necessary arrangements have been made for the smooth conduct of Huzurabad Assembly by-election in Telangana on Saturday.

Voting will be held from 7 AM to 7 PM and the counting of votes will be taken up on November 2.

Around 306 polling stations have been set up for the bypoll and over 5,000 polling staff and security personnel have been deployed to ensure the smooth polling, according to polling authorities.

Though there are 30 candidates in the fray, the main fight will be between the ruling TRS, BJP and Congress.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the resignation of former Minister Etela Rajendar from the Chandrashekar Rao Cabinet and also as a legislator from Huzurabad Constituency.

He later joined the BJP.

Over 2.30 lakh electors including 1.19 lakh women voters, will decide the fate of Gellu Srinivas Yadav (TRS), Etrla Rajender (BJP) and Balmoor Venkat Nursing Rao (Congress) in a three-cornered contest, which is considered a prestige battle for TRS President and Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao, popularly known as KCR.

The election authorities have made special arrangements for differently abled, elderly and Covid-19 patients.

Huzurabad Assembly constituency is one of 13 constituencies in Karimnagar district.

It is part of Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency.

Telangana BJP President Bandi Sanjay Kumar won the Karimnagar Lok Sabha seat in the 2019 election.

A total of 306 EVMs are going to be utilised for the polling.

Mr Rajender has been winning from Huzurabad Assembly Constituency on TRS ticket since 2009, when he defeated his nearest rival V. Krishna Mohan Rao of Congress by 15,035 votes. In the 2010 bypoll, Rajender increased his victory margin to nearly 80,000 against his nearest rival M. Damodar Reddy of TDP.

In the 2014 election held just before formation of Telangana state, the former Minister retained Huzurabad seat with a majority of 57,037 votes. K. Sudershan Reddy of Congress was the runner-up.

Rajender continued his winning streak from Huzurabad in 2018, defeating his nearest rival Kaushik Reddy of Congress by 47,803 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *