As per current trend, Cong crosses majority-mark of 113

Insight Online News

Bengaluru, May 13 : As per the current trend, the Congress party has crossed the majority-mark of 113, and BJP is ahead in 80-plus seats in the Karnataka assembly election on Saturday.

As of 9.32 am, the grand old party is leading in 114 seats, while BJP is leading in 87. The counting of votes began at 8 am.

While Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is maintaining lead in Shiggaon, BJP candidate Abhay Patil is leading by 5,178 in Belagavi South.

BJP minister V Somanna is trailing by 2,341 votes against Congress candidate Putttarangashetty in Chamarajanagar segment. He is also trailing Varuna against Siddaramaiah.

Transport Minister B Sriramulu in Ballari constituency is trailing against his once close friend and now political rival B Nagendra from Congress.

Congress candidate Babasaheb Patil is leading in Kittur constituency against sitting BJP MLA Mahantesh Dodagoudar by 337 votes.

BJP Minister Araga Jnanendra is leading in Thirthahalli against Congress candidate Kimmane Ratnakar by 184 votes.

Tough fight is ensuing in Raibag constituency between BJP candidate Duryodhan Aihole and independent candidate and former IAS officer Shambhu Kallolikar.

In the 2018 election, the BJP was the single-largest party winning 104 seats. However, Congress, which had bagged only 80 seats, stitched an alliance with HD Kumaraswamy’s JDS, which won 37 seats, and formed a coalition government in the state.

The BJP formed the government mid-way after some Congress and JDS MLAs withdrew their support from the coalition government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *