Bengal assembly poll Update : Notification for fifth phase assembly poll in Bengal issued

Insight Online News

Kolkata, Mar 23 : The notification for the fifth phase election to forty-five Assembly seats in West Bengal was issued on Tuesday by the Election Commission.

In the fifth phase of polling in West Bengal, elections will be held in 6 districts and 45 assembly seats. The districts include North Pargana Part I, Darjeeling, Nadia Part I, Kalimpong, East Bardhaman Part I and Jalpaiguri on April 17

With the issue of notification, the nomination process began.

The forty-five Assembly Constituencies of West Bengal going to polls in the fifth phase are 1. Dhupguri (SC) 2. Maynaguri (SC) 3. Jalpaiguri (SC) 4. Rajganj (SC) 5. Abram-Fulbari 6. Mal (ST) 7. Nagrakata (ST) 8. Kalimpong 9. Darjeeling 10. Kurseong 11. Matigara-Naxalbari (SC) 12. Siliguri 13. Phansidewa (ST) 14. Santipur 15. Ranaghat Uttar Paschim 16. Krishnaganj (SC) 17. Ranaghat Uttar Purba (SC) 18. Ranaghat Dakshin (SC) 19. Chakdaha 20. Kalyani (SC) 21. Haringhata (SC) 22. Panihati 23. Kamarhati 24. Baranagar 25. Dum Dum 26. Rajarhat New Town 27. Bidhannagar 28. Rajarhat Gopalpur 29. Madhyamgram 30. Barasat 31. Deganga 32. Haroa 33. Minakhan (SC) 34. Sandeshkhali (ST) 35. Basirhat Dakshin 36. Basirhat Uttar 37. Hingalganj (SC) 38. Khandaghosh (SC) 39. Bardhaman Dakshin 40. Raina (SC) 41. Jamalpur (SC) 42. Monteswar 43. Kalna (SC) 44. Memari 45. Bardhaman Uttar (SC).

The filing of nominations for the fourth phase ends on March 30. Scrutiny of the same will be done on March 31. The last day of withdrawal of candidature is April 3.

The political parties are gearing up for the longest phase of polls in the state assembly elections. This time the polls will be held in eight phases.

Ruling Trinamool Congress and Left Front were introduced some new candidates while BJP is also preparing to rope in popular faces.

Meanwhile, the BJP has announced the list of star campaigners for the upcoming West Bengal Assembly elections, which also features actor-turned-politician Mithun Chakraborty.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Cabinet Minister Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Dharmendra Pradhan, West Bengal BJP in-charge Kailash Vijayvargiya, West Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh are among the prominent star campaigners.

Actors-turned-politicians such as Locket Chatterjee, Roopa Ganguly, Babul Supriyo, Manoj Tiwari, Srabanti Chatterjee, Paayel Sarkar and Hiran Chatterjee are also going to be campaigning for the BJP other than Mithun Chakraborty.

West Bengal assembly election is going to be a high stake event this fall as both BJP and TMC have unleashed challenge against each other.

Even months before the polls, BJP has been aggressively campaigning in the state, targeting the incumbent Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led TMC government.

Several big names of the TMC have left their party and joined BJP ahead of the election, questioning the conduct of the Mamata Banerjee led state government.

Names like Suvendu Adhikari, Rajib Banerjee, Baishali Dalmiya, former Howrah mayor Rathin Chakraborty and actor Rudranil Ghosh, others have joined the BJP ahead of elections.

Meanwhile, BJP’s star campaigners including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, party chief JP Nadda, national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargia, others have been actively campaigning in the state months before the forthcoming polls.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *