Bengal News Update : Raj confident of victory from Barrackpore

Insight Online News

Kolkata, Apr 16 : Most successful commercial filmaker of Tollywood Raj Chakraborty, who has been fielded by the ruling Trinamool Congress from the Barrackpur assembly constituency in North 24 Parganas district, is confident of his victory after being welcomed by voters with open arms.

He is pitted against BJP candidate Chandramani Shukla and Communist Party of India (Marxist) nominee Debasish Bhowmik.

By fielding Chakraborty, a prominent name in the Bengali film industry, TMC hopes to counter BJP MP Arjun Singh’s strong presence in the area. however, Singh said that “people will teach lessons to TMC not just in Barrackpore, but all outsiders are united to vote for the BJP in this election”.

“I am confident about my victory. My only goal is to see Mamata Banerjee as the chief minister of West Bengal for the third time,” Chakraborty said.

” I will win the polls by convincing my voters of my integrity and interest. I will fulfill didi’s passion to work for the people by ensuring that all the schemes introduced by her are implemented. Not someone who makes false promises, I will ensure that I deliver what I promise. I will never badmouth my opponent but will highlight what I want to do,” he said.

Chakraborty does not enter into any comparative analysis game with anyone.

“I am myself and I do not want to be anyone’s prototype. I am contesting as a foot soldier of our dear chief minister, Mamata Banerjee. But I can promise that if I am elected I will prove the general perception about celebrity public representatives wrong,” he said.

Chakraborty said his priorities include women’s security, being accessible to voters making Barrackpur a haven for businessmen.

“I have got huge support from the people of this constituency. I know people are petrified with BJP leader Arjun Singh as he himself tries to convey to the people that he is the supreme leader in this constituency. I am not afraid of any Opposition leader, whoever will contest from their party. I respect all of them,” he said.

“I promise not to be a star contestant,” said Chakrabarty, who is known for his organizational skills and ability to become an effective team leader.

“Cinema and politics both speak about society. It does not matter which profession someone belongs to but what it matters whether someone wants to work for the people. We would not do the politics that prompts someone to hurl abusive language on others,” he said, in a veiled attack on the saffron party.

“I am a people’s leader. I have a humble background. My father was a clerk at the Rishi Bankim Chandra College in in Naihati. I have grown in this locality and I know life at the grassroot level,” the filmmaker said.

During his constituency visit, Chakraborty observed that people there had huge interest in drama and cinema. “They urged us to organise drama in their area once a month,” he added.

Raj Chakraborty made his first directorial debut with the movie ‘Chirodini Tumi Je Amar’ in which Priyanka Sarkar and Rahul Banerjee were cast.

In the same year, he made megahit blockbuster film ‘Challenge’ wherein acts Subhashree Ganguly and Dev. In the year 2010, Raj Chakraborty made an enormous direction in the film ‘Le Chakka’ wherein starred Payel Sarkar and Dev.

Afterwards he directed megahit blockbuster movie titled ‘Dui Prithibi’, Dev, Koel Mallick and Jeet were in the movie.

Raj also made an enormous directorial acting in the movie titled ‘Bojhena Shey Bojhena’ wherein Soham Chakraborty, Mimi Chakraborty, Abir Chatterjee and Payel Sarkar starred. The movie was an enormous commercial and critical success at box office.

After that, the talented director gifted a number of popular movies to the viewers like Proloy, Kanamachi, Parbona Ami Chartey Tokey and Borbaad. Once again, he came into limelight when he made ‘Abhimaan’ in the year 2016 with Subhashree Ganguly, Jeet and Sayantika Banerjee.

In 2016, Silbhadra Datta of Trinamool Congress won the seat by defeating Debasish Bhowmick from Communist Party Of India (marxist) with a margin of 7319 votes.

In 2011, Silbhadra Dutta defeated his nearest rival Madhusudan Samanta of Communist Party of India (marxist) with a margin of 36123 votes.

Barrackpur seat came into existence in 2011 after Titagarh assembly constituency ceased to exist from the same year.

Barrackpur Assembly constituency is falling under Barrackpore Lok sabha constituency.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Arjun Singh won from Barrackpore Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with the margin of 14857 votes by defeating Dinesh Trivedi from Trinamool Congress.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *