Bengal Polls Live Update : Around 61 pc polling recorded till 4 PM in Bengal

Insight Online News

Kolkata, Oct 30 : An estimated 61 per cent turnout was recorded till 4 PM for byelections to four Assembly seats of Khardah in North 24 Parganas district, Santipur in Nadia, Gosaba in South 24 Parganas and Dinhata in Cooch Behar in West Bengal.

While Santipur recorded 64 per cent, Khardah, Gosaba and Dinhata registered 52, 66 and 62 per

cent respectively, Election Commission sources said.

The Election Commission has deployed altogether 92 companies of central armed forces to

ensure peaceful polling.

While 27 companies have been deployed in Dinhata, 22 in Santipur, 20 in Khardah and 23 in


The byelection in Gosaba was necessitated as three-time Trinamool Congress MLA Jayanta

Naskar passed away due to Covid, while in Khardah, party candidate Kajal Sinha breathed his

last also due to Covid before counting of votes.

Dinhata and Santipur seats fell vacant as BJP MPs Nishith Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar respectively resigned from the State Assembly and decided to retain their Lok Sabha memberships.

Veteran Trinamool Congress leader and former State Minister Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who romped home from Bhawanipur Assembly constituency, made room for Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who lost her Nandigram seat to BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari in the last Assembly election and returned to Assembly by a thumping margin from the prestigious Bhawanipur seat in the earlier byelection.

The Trinamool Congress bagged all the three seats of Bhawanipur in the city, Jangipur and Samshergunj in Murshidabad district.

While Trinamool Congress’ Udayan Guha is contesting from Dinhata, Brajakishore Goswami is

from Sanitpur, Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay from Khardah and Subrata Mandol from Gosaba.

For BJP, Niranjan Biswas is contesting from Santipur, Jay Saha is from Khardah, Ashok Mandal

from Dinhata and Palash Rana from Gosaba.

Left Front constituent Forward Bloc nominee Abdur Rauf is fighting from Dinhata in Coochbehar, while RSP candidate Anil Chandra Mandal is contesting from Gosaba in South 24 Parganas and CPI-M’s Soumen Mahato and Debojyodi Das are vying from Santipur (Nadia) and Khardah in

North 24 Parganas respectively.

Counting will take place on November two.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *