Bihar Election : Naxal shadow looms over 36 Bihar seats in Phase 2 polling

Naxal shadow looms over 36 Bihar seats in Phase 2 polling

Patna, Nov 3 : Even as polling in 94 Assembly segments in Bihar during the second phase of elections was underway on Tuesday and no violence was reported in the first three hours, shadow of Naxals looms large over 23 constituencies that are fully affected by Left Wing Extremism and 13 partially affected ones.

These include Pipra, Kanti Seohar, Baruraj, Runnisaidpur, Paroo, Belsand, Sahebganj, Minapur, Baikunthpur, Taraiya, Amnaur, Hajipur, Lal Ganj, Vaishali, Mahnar, Cheria Bariyarpur, Teghra, Begusarai, Alauli, Pirpainti, Islampur and Hilsa.

Majority of these constituencies fall in Saran, Tirhut and Mithilanchal areas in fully Naxal-affected region located on the Bihar-Nepal border.

The partially affected constituencies include Kesaria, Kalyanpur, Madhuban, Parsa, Rajapakar, Bachhwara, Matihani, Bakhri, Khagaria, Nalanda and Phulwari.

Additional Director General of Police (Headquarters) Jitendra Kumar, who is also the Nodal Officer of Bihar, said: “The elections are peaceful so far. No case of violence has been reported from anywhere. We have deployed adequate security at all polling booths and set up check posts at sensitive places to keep an eye on strangers.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *