BJP wins 7 of 20 ULBs in Tripura unopposed

Insight Online News

Agartala, Nov 3 : The ruling BJP has won seven of 20 urban local bodies (ULBs) in Tripura without contest.

In five ULBs, no opposition was allowed to submit their nomination while in two cases except

for BJP no other could file candidature in majority of the seats.

The opposition CPI-M, Trinamool Congress, Congress and TIPRA Motha alleged that BJP

cadres had resorted to large scale violence across the state for last few days and from the first

day of nomination process the ruling party cadres encircled the offices of the returning officers to prevent the oppositions.

Yesterday was the last day of nomination and opposition parties were not able to reach the

offices, as BJP workers prevented them on the way in Kamalpur, Khowai, Mohanpur, Jirania, Ranirbazar, Bishalgarh, Udaipur and Santirbazar. Somehow, an independent candidate in 10

members Jirania Nagar Panchayat and six independent candidates in 15 members Santirbazar

Nagar Panchayat managed to submit nominations although elections to these seats would not

affect the victory of BJP, alleged CPI-M state secretary Jitendra Chowdhury.

TIPRA Motha Chief and royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman alleged that they were

supposed to contest five seats of Santirbazar Nagar Panchayat but BJP cadres didn’t allow

them to submit nomination papers. As a result, they blockaded the road and protested against

BJP and called the people of other ULBs to defeat BJP.

Trinamool congress state convener Subal Bhowmik alleged despite repeated appeal to state

election commission (SEC) and police, no opposition was provided adequate security to file their nomination in all the seats of ULBs except for Agartala Municipal Corporation. Rather, BJP goons

have threatened opposition supporters in front of police, but security personnel were silent.

Meanwhile, SEC officials said that altogether, 829 candidates from different political parties and independently have submitted their nomination papers across the state including 212 candidates

from different political parties including 13 independent candidates in 51 seats in Agartala

Municipal Corporation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *