By-election in 5 Assembly seats announced

Insight Online News

New Delhi, Nov 5 : The Election Commission on Saturday announced that by-elections in five Assembly and one Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha, Rajasthan, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Chhattisgarh on December 5.

According to a communique, the Assembly by-elections will be held in Padampur (Odisha), Sardarshahar (Rajasthan), Kurhani (Bihar), Bhanupratappur (Chattisgarh) and Rampur (Uttar Pradesh). Mainpuri (Uttar Pradesh) is the lone parliamentary seat.

The date of issue of notification is November 10, the EC said. The last date of filing nomination is November 17. The scrutiny will take place on November 18. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 21.

The counting of votes will place on December 8, the panel said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *