DDC Poll J&K : Nearly 51% voting in last phase of DDC polls

Insight Online News

Srinagar, Dec 19 : J&K State Election Commissioner (SEC) K.K. Sharma said on Saturday that nearly 51 per cent voting was recorded in the final phase of District Development Council (DDC) elections across Jammu & Kashmir.

Addressing a press conference, the SEC said polling was peaceful in 28 DDC constituencies, including 13 in Kashmir division and 15 in Jammu division, that witnessed 50.98 per cent polling.

The SEC informed that polling was held in 1,703 polling stations – 1,028 in Kashmir division and 675 in Jammu division.

He said that Jammu division recorded an average voter turnout of 72.71 per cent with Poonch district recording the highest percentage of 83.58 per cent followed by Reasi district with 81.92 and Rajouri with 77.31 per cent.

Kashmir division recorded 29.91 per cent voter turnout with Kupwara district recording the highest polling at 63.80 per cent followed by Bandipora with 56.56 per cent and Baramulla district recorded 44.60 per cent polling, he added.

Giving district wise details, the SEC informed that in Kashmir division the polling percentage recorded in Budgam was 35.12, Anantnag 8.66, Kulgam 11.20, Pulwama 8.50 and 8.58 polling was registered in Shopian.

Similarly, in Jammu division, polling percentage of 73.65 was recorded in Samba, 73.93 in Kathua, 73.42 in Ramban, 73.45 per cent in Kishtwar, 60.49 in Udhampur, 70.33 in Doda and 69.39 in Jammu district.

The SEC said that the elections were held for 280 DDC constituencies for the first time in Jammu & Kashmir.

“It is very promising to note that a very good participation of people was observed and enthusiasm among the people was at its peak keeping in view the impact these polls are going to have on the developmental scenario in the rural community,” he said.

Besides these, 1,088 Panchayat ‘Halqas’ and 12153 Panch constituencies also went to polls.

He further said that 321,694 (169,271 male and 152,423 female voters) people exercised their right to franchise for the final phase across the Union territory.

He said re-polling was ordered after contesting candidates from several political parties and voters complained about unlawful activities during polling at some polling stations in Mendhar and Shopian DDC constituencies. Besides, there were attempts to create ruckus at some polling stations.

He said that re-polling would be done in two polling stations of 17-PS Hajama and 32-MS Gallian (Mendhar-A DDC constituency), two polling stations of 29-Sakhimaidan and 30-GMS Sakhimaidan (Mendhar-B DDC constituency) besides at two polling stations of Balpora (Shopian-II DDC constituency) on December 21.

IANS / Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *