Election Commission announces polls for 56 seats of Legislative Councils in four states

Insight Online News

New Delhi, Nov 9 : The Election Commission on Tuesday announced elections for 56 Legislative Council seats in four states – Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Telangana.

The ECI announced polls for 11 seats from eight Local Authorities’ Constituencies (LAC) in Andhra Pradesh, 25 seats from 20 LACs in Karnataka, eight seats from seven LACs in Maharashtra and 12 seats from nine LACs in Telangana.

According to a statement from ECI, the notifications for the polls in all these states would be issued on November 16, the last day for nomination is November 23. Scrutiny of nominations would be done on November 24, and November 26 is the last day for withdrawal of applications.

Polling would be held on December 10 from 0800 hrs to 1600 hrs.

Counting would be done on December 14 and elections have to be completed by December 16, the ECI said.

The Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituencies.

Term of office of the 12 sitting members of Legislative Council is going to expire on January 1, 2022, in Telangana. Polls will be held on two seats each in Karimnagar, Mahabubnagar, and Ranga Reddy, and one seat each in Adilabad, Warangal, Nalgonda, Medak, Nizamabad, and Khammam.

For the polls for Maharashtra Legislative Council, the ECI said it has laid down the guidelines that if at least 75 per cent of the local authorities in a local authorities’ constituency are functioning, and in addition at least 75 per cent of the electors out of the total electorate of the constituency are available, then electorate is treated as available for electing representative(s) to the legislative council.

The existence of constituent local body functioning was more than 75 per cent in five out of seven Local Authorities’ Constituencies, except Solapur and Ahmednagar Local Authorities’ Constituencies. Polls will be held for two seats in Mumbai, and one each from Kolhapur, Dhule-cum-Nandurbar, Akola-cum- Buldhana-cum-Washim and Nagpur.

In Andhra Pradesh, term of office of 11 sitting members of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from 08 Local Authorities’ Constituencies had expired in August.

“Biennial elections to fill up 11 seats could not be conducted by 11.08.2021 as the Constituent Local Bodies/Electors were not in existence at that time,” the ECI said.

“Now, as per the information received from the CEO, Andhra Pradesh vide letter dated 01.10.2021, both the percentage of constituent Local Bodies functioning and the percentage of electors in position is above 75 per cent, in respect of above mentioned 08 Local Authorities’ Constituencies in Andhra Pradesh,” a statement said.

Polls will be held for one seat each in Anantapur, Krishna, East Godavari, , Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, Chittoor, Prakasam local authorities, and two seats in Guntur.

In Karnataka, term of 25 sitting members of Karnataka Legislative Council from 20 Local Authorities’ Constituencies is going to expire on 05.01.2022

Polls will be held for 25 seats in Bidar, Kalaburagi, Bijapur, Belagavi, Uttara Kanada, Dharwad, Raichur, Ballari, Chitradurga, Shivamogga, Dakshina Kannada, Chikmagaluru, Hassan, Tumukuru, Mandya, Bengaluru, Bengaluru Rural, Kolar, Kodagu, and Mysuru.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *