G7 welcomes IAEA-led mission to Zaporizhzhia NPP

Insight Online News

Moscow, Aug 29 : The Group of Seven (G7) welcomes a mission of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) to the Zaporizhzhia nuclear power plant (NPP) and calls for ensuring safe and unimpeded access to all Ukrainian nuclear facilities, the G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group said on Monday.

Earlier in the day, Mikhail Ulyanov, Russia’s permanent representative to international organizations in Vienna, said that the IAEA mission headed by Director General Rafael Grossi was on its way to the Russian-controlled facility.

“The G7 Non-Proliferation Directors Group welcomes the IAEA-led mission announced by Director General Grossi for August 29, 2022, to address nuclear safety, security and safeguards concerns around the Zaporizhzhya Nuclear Power Plant. We also welcome UN Secretary General [Antonio] Guterres’ efforts to provide necessary support to this mission,” a statement read.

The G7 non-proliferation directors group also expressed its “full and continued support for the IAEA.”

“IAEA staff must be able to access all nuclear facilities in Ukraine timely, safely and without impediment, and engage directly, and without interference, with the Ukrainian personnel responsible for operating these facilities, which must be allowed to carry out its duties without threats or pressure and must be able to acquire information relevant to all the necessary technical elements pertaining to nuclear safety and security at the installations,” the statement added.

The Zaporizhzhia NPP, located on the left bank of the Dnieper River, is the largest nuclear power plant in Europe in terms of the number of units and output. Since March, the facility and surrounding areas have been controlled by the Russian military. The NPP has recently been targeted by multiple shelling, raising international concerns over a possible nuclear accident. Russia and Ukraine blame each other for the shelling incidents.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *