IND vs SA 3rd Test: India wins toss, elect to bat first

Insight Online News

Cape Town, Jan 11 : India won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in the third Test here at the Newlands on Tuesday.

Skipper Virat Kohli returned to the squad after missing out the second test in Johannesburg due to upper back spasm.

The other change in the Indian side is Umesh Yadav, who has replaced injured Mohammad Siraj.

“Luckily my spasm healed in about three days. Fit and fine now. I come in for Vihari. Siraj misses out because of a niggle and Umesh comes in for him,” said Kohli.

“Umesh has been very potent with the ball recently, very handy in the field and with the bat as well,” he added.

South Africa, on the other hand, has no changes in their line-up.

South Africa captain Dean Elgar said: “Ideally you want to bat first on this surface and given the overhead conditions it might not be a bad idea to bowl first.

“The cricket we have been playing the last few months been very special, given the number of players we lost.”

Playing XIs:

India: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

South Africa: Dean Elgar (capt), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Kyle Verreynne(w), Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duanne Olivier, Lungi Ngidi


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *