IPL: 1200+ players register for auction

Insight Online News

Mumbai, Jan 22 : The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced that 1,214 players have registered for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 player auction.

The two-day Mega Auction will see 10 Teams bidding for some of the finest talents in internatonal cricket.

“The IPL Player Registration closed on January 20th 2022. Total of 1,214 players (896 Indian and 318 overseas players) have signed up to be part of the IPL 2022 Player Auction,” Jay Shah, Secretary BCCI said in a statement.

The players list incorporates 270 capped, 903 uncapped and 41 Associate players (including 318 overseas players).

Total of 33 Players have been retained or picked ahead of the mega auction.

The existing 8 IPL Franchises have retained a total of 27 players while the two new teams have picked six players ahead of the auction.

Retained players:

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell, Varun Chakaravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer and Sunil Narine

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard

Punjab Kings: Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh

Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler Yashasvi Jaiswal

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad and Umran Malik

Team Ahmedabad: Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan and Shubman Gill

Team Lucknow: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Ravi Bishnoi

There will be 10 teams in the IPL 2022 edition with Sanjiv Goenka owned Lucknow franchise and CVC owned Ahmedabad, who are making their debut in the cash rich league.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.