National News Update : PM Modi to virtually launch extension of ‘Swamitva Yojana’

Insight Online News

Lucknow, Apr 23 : Aimed to revolutionise property record maintenance in India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will virtually launch the extension of ‘Swamitva Yojana’ on the occasion of Panchayati Raj Diwas.

Accelerating the pace of development in India’s villages, ‘Swamitva Yojana’, which only runs in nine states of India including Uttar Pradesh, will be launched in every state on April 24, officials here on Saturday said.

On this occasion, in the presence of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, the PM will digitally distribute the property cards (Gharauni) to 57,401 villagers of 425 villages of the state.

It is a matter of fact that Uttar Pradesh under the dynamic leadership of CM Yogi, the state is at the forefront of providing ‘gharauni’ to the real owners of the houses.

The ‘gharauni’ (residential records) will be distributed to the villagers from several villages of UP’s including Jhansi, Lalitpur, Mahoba, Chitrakoot, Etah, Etawah, Mainpuri, Varanasi, Bareilly, Bijnor, Rampur, Amroha, Badaun, Baghpat, Muzaffarnagar, etc

This will be for the 4th time since the independence of India that on the lines of ‘Khatauni’, property cards will be given to the villagers as a document of ownership of their residential property.

Earlier, on October 12, 2021, as many as 41,431 villagers from 346 villages of 37 districts of UP were digitally given the certificates of ownership in the presence of the PM.

On December 15, 2021, CM Yogi handed over the rural residential records to as many as 10,041 villagers of 229 villages. Later, on February 12, 2021, a total of 2,09,016 villagers of 1001 villages from 11 districts in the state received ‘gharauni’.

Under the Swamitva Yojana, the land in rural populated areas will be mapped using modern technologies including the use of drones to demarcate the land. This scheme will also make it easier for villagers to avail loans from banks.

To eliminate house ownership disputes, the records of 82913 villages will be digitised under this ambitious scheme. So far, 20298 villages have been surveyed through drones, and work of digital mapping is being done.

According to information received from the officials of the Board of Revenue, the work to provide ownership to the real owners of the houses built in the rural areas is to be completed by the year 2025.

The villagers of 2,481 villages in the country have been granted their property rights. So far, 2,60,788 villagers have been given their property cards.

Last year, under the pilot project, ‘Swamitva Yojana’ was launched in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, and Rajasthan.

According to the officials, the villagers who have been given ‘gharauni’ will now be able to buy and sell their properties without any dispute and will also enable the villagers to access bank finance.

Calling ‘Swamitva Yojana’ a major revolution towards rural empowerment, CM Yogi on Feb 12 had said that ‘Gharauni’ is not just a government paper to give the ownership of the land, rather it is a mode of boosting people’s confidence, instilling self-esteem, and making them self-reliant.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *