Nitish govt wins trust vote in Bihar

Insight Online News

Patna, Aug 24 : The newly constituted grand alliance government led by Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar won a confidence vote in the state assembly on Wednesday.

In the special session of the Bihar assembly convened for the floor test, 160 members voted in favour of the confidence motion whereas in the following walkout by the opposition no vote could be cast against the motion.

Nitish government is enjoying the support of 164 members including that of JD(U), RJD, Congress, Hindustani Awam Morcha ( HAM), Communist Party of India Marxist Leninist, Communist Party of India (CPI), AIMIM and an independent.

Vijendra Prasad Yadav and Bhima Bharati of JD(U) could not attend the session due to their illness whereas Suryakant Paswan of CPI and Prafull Manjhi of HAM were absent due to some other reasons.

During the trust vote, the deputy speaker Maheshwar Hajari being in the chair could not participate in the voting taken up through headcount.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *