Pakistan names cricket teams for home series against New Zealand

Insight Online News

Islamabad, Apr 5 : The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday announced two separate teams for the upcoming One-day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) series against visiting New Zealand.

The games were scheduled to be played in the cities of Lahore, Rawalpindi and Karachi from April 14 to May 7.

Left-handed fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi will play for both squads as the PCB said in a statement that he is all set to return to international cricket after four months of his absence due to injuries.

The 22-year-old blistering bowler had already returned to the field impressively in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League season-8 when he led his team Lahore Qalandars to the title for the second time.

Senior players, including Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf and Mohammad Rizwan, had also returned after taking a rest for last month’s three T20I matches against Afghanistan.

Babar Azam will be captain of the teams, while all-rounder Shadab Khan will perform his duties as vice-captain.

Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub and Zaman Khan, the young players who have impressed in recent years, have secured their positions in the T20I squad, with Ihsanullah also being named to the ODI side for the first time.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *