Pollard returns as West Indies announce squads for Ireland, England series

Insight Online News

St John’s (Antigua) Jan 1 : Kieron Pollard has made a comeback to lead West Indies in the upcoming limited-overs series against Ireland and England.

West Indies will host Ireland in the three-match ODI series and a one-off T20I from January 8 to 16. The team will then travel to Barbados to face England in five T20Is at Kensington Oval from January 22 to 30.

The 34-year-old Pollard had missed the tour of Pakistan after suffering a hamstring injury. However, Evin Lewis and Anderson Phillip will be unavailable for the upcoming series due to recent Covid positive tests.

Moreover, although Fabian Allen has recovered from ankle injury, he will miss the Ireland series due to a Covid positive test, and Obed McCoy remains unavailable due to rehab on shin injury.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Interim Selection Panel announced the squads which will start the new year at Sabina Park, Jamaica.

“We have tried to maintain the general make-up of the squads from the Pakistan Tour before Christmas, with the captain and some senior players coming back in,” said Phil Simmons, head coach.

“Covid-19 has also played a part in the final make-up of the squad. The challenges in the next couple months are getting the young players in both squads to not only improve on their skills but maintain the attitude and desire we saw in Pakistan.

“We do need to start the year on a high. And we know both Ireland and England have very good teams, so we expect a very strong challenge as we look improve our chances of automatic qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023 and building the T20 team for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2022,” added Simmons.

The One-Day International series between West Indies and Ireland will form part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, in which the top seven teams will secure automatic qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

West Indies ODI squad vs Ireland: Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas.

Keacy Carty and Sheldon Cottrell have been named as Covid-19 reserves for the series.

West Indies T20I squad vs Ireland and England: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Fabian Allen (England T20Is only), Darren Bravo (England T20Is only), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akel Hosein, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Jayden Seales, Alzarri Joseph and Devon Thomas have been named Covid-19 reserves.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *