Polling begins for 2nd and last phase of UP civic polls

Insight Online News

Lucknow, May 11 : Polling began for 370 urban local bodies, including 7 Municipal Corporations, 95 Nagar Palika Parishad and 268 Nagar Panchayats spread over 38 districts covering 9 divisions of Uttar Pradesh in the second and last leg of civic polls on Thursday amidst tight security arrangements, the State Election Commission said.

According to State Election Commissioner (SEC) Manoj Kumar polling which began at 7 am will continue till 6 pm and the counting of votes will take place on May 13.

It may be noted that polling for the first phase of civic polls was held on May 4 and around 52 per cent votes were polled.

A police spokesman said that 12,103 Inspectors and Sub-Inspectors along with 57,201 head constables and constables and 40,525 Home Guards have been deployed in this phase to ensure free, fair and peaceful polling.

He said, “In addition to this 76 companies and 2 platoons of PAC, 35 companies of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and 7,935 trainee SIs will also be deployed. Arrangements for webcasting, videography and CCTV cameras are being ensured at all identified hypersensitive plus and hypersensitive polling stations in coordination with the district election officer.”

The SEC said that the divisions covered in the second phase include Meerut, Bareilly, Aligarh, Kanpur, Chitrakoot, Ayodhya, Basti, Azamgarh and Mirzapur. Districts being covered in this phase include Meerut, Hapur, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Baghpat, Bulandshahr, Bareilly, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Pilibhit, Aligarh, Hathras, Kasganj, Etah and Kanpur Nagar.

“Besides, polling will also be held in Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Mahoba Polling will be held in Banda, Ayodhya, Sultanpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Barabanki, Amethi, Basti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Siddharthnagar, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia, Mirzapur, Sonbhadra and Bhadohi,” he said.

Kumar said that the fate of the candidates for 6,929 posts, including Mayors of 7 Municipal Corporations, Chairpersons of 95 Nagar Palika Parishad and 267 Chairpersons of Nagar Panchayats will be decided in this phase.

He said that while 39,146 candidates are in the fray for 6,929 different posts in which 1,92,32,004 voters, including 1,02,16,992 male and 90,15,012 female voters, are eligible to cast their votes. “Directives have been issued to ensure that absolutely no inconvenience is faced by any voter in casting his or her vote. The voters who are in line within the stipulated time will be given an opportunity to cast their votes,” he said.

The SEC said that 83 candidates are in the fray for the post of Mayor in 7 Municipal Corporations, including Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Aligarh, Kanpur Nagar and Ayodhya. “3,840 candidates are in the fray for 581 posts of Corporators. Similarly, 969 candidates are in fray for the posts of chairpersons of 95 Nagar Palika Parishads, whereas 13,315 candidates are in fray for 2,520 members,” he said.

He said that in 268 Nagar Panchayats while 2,942 candidates are in the fray for the post of Chairpersons, 17,997 candidates are contesting for 3,459 posts of members. “Polling will be held at 6,111 polling stations set up at 1,798 polling centers for Municipal Corporations. Similarly, 8,198 polling stations at 2,537 polling centers have been set up in 95 Nagar Palika Parishad,” he said.

Kumar said that for 268 posts of Chairpersons and 3,495 members in Nagar Panchayats 5,309 polling stations at 2,043 polling stations have been set up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *