TMC names all 4 candidates for July 10 Assembly by-poll

Insight Online News

Kolkata, June 14 : West Bengal’s ruling Trinamool Congress Friday named its four candidates for July 10 bypoll to as many vacant assembly seats of Raigung in North Dinajpur, Ranaghat (South), Bagdah in Nadia district and Maniktala in the city here, party sources said.

Former MLA Krishna Kalyani seeks his reelection from Raiganj; Mukutmani Adhikari from Ranaghat (S), Madhuparna Thakur from Bagdah and Supti Pandey, widow of former state minister Sadhan Pande from Maniktala, the party said in a communique.

The Election Commission of India announced that bypolls would be held on July 10 in 13 Assembly constituencies across the country, four of them in West Bengal.

In three of the four Assembly constituencies, Raiganj, Ranaghat and Bagdah — the BJP MLAs had joined the TMC and unsuccessfully contested the just-concluded Lok Sabha elections.

BJP MLA Krishna Kalyani joined the TMC but lost the Lok Sabha polls for the Raiganj seat to BJP candidate Kartik Paul.

Biswajit Das quit the TMC to join the BJP ahead of the 2021 Assembly elections. After being elected from Bagdah, he returned to the TMC. In the Lok Sabha elections, he was defeated by the BJP’s Shantanu Thakur in the Bongaon constituency. However, Das was dropped by the TMC and Thakur will contest.

Just before the Lok Sabha elections, another BJP MLA, Mukut Mani Adhikari, joined the TMC and was fielded as the candidate for the Ranaghat seat, but he lost to the BJP’s sitting MP, Jagannath Sarkar.

The fourth Assembly bypoll will be held for the Maniktala seat, which fell vacant after the demise of TMC veteran and minister Sadhan Pandey.

According to the ECI by-poll schedules, the notification for the poll to be issued on June 14, June 21 is the last date of filing the nomination papers, scrutiny of nomination papers is on June 24, June 26 is the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers.

The election is on July 10 and July 13 is the counting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *