Uttar Pradesh : PM Modi will inaugurate 9 medical colleges from Siddharthnagar

Insight Online News

Lucknow, Oct 25 : The Yogi government in UP is all set to create a new record on Monday when Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate nine new state medical colleges from Siddharth Nagar.

Uttar Pradesh will become the only state in the country to inaugurate nine medical colleges simultaneously. It will boost the health infrastructure in a big way as this endeavour will augment more than three thousand hospital beds and nine hundred seats of MBBS in a single day.

This is in line with the resolve of CM Yogi to establish medical colleges in all 75 districts of the state. Before 2017, there were a dozen medical colleges in the state, and in just four and a half years, UP is on the way to create a new record with number of new medical colleges coming up. In UP, the government already started seven state medical colleges between 2017 and 2021 followed by nine medical colleges to be inaugurated on Oct 25. There are 14 new medical colleges in the pipeline to be set up in Amethi, Auraiya, Bijnor, Bulandshahr, Chandauli, Gonda, Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Kushinagar, Lakhimpur Kheri, Lalitpur, Pilibhit, Sonbhadra and Sultanpur districts by 2022-23. Apart from existing 30 private medical colleges in the state, there are four central medical institutions- two AIIMS, one each at Rae Bareli and Gorakhpur, BHU and one Medical College in AMU.

The Yogi government has also cleared the policy and floated the tender to establish medical colleges under PPP model in 16 districts thus paving the way to hit a century of medical colleges in the state.

On October 25, the PM will inaugurate Government Medical Colleges of Siddharthnagar, Deoria, Etah, Hardoi, Ghazipur, Mirzapur, Pratapgarh, Fatehpur and Jaunpur, adding a golden chapter in the field of medical and medical education of the country.

These nine medical colleges will have well-equipped hospitals of 300 or more beds and admission will also start for 100-100 MBBS seats through NEET from this session. Due to this, the best medical facilities will be available in the districts which were considered backward and deprived of even basic healthcare facilities.

Siddharthnagar district had also been affected by the dreaded Encephalitis disease since decades. Now, in the last four and a half years, Encephalitis has been brought under control and the new medical college will further provide facilities to fight this and other diseases.

There was also a period when the Gorakhpur used to cater to all seven districts of Gorakhpur-Basti division. In the last four and a half years, the medical facilities in the entire Eastern UP has undergone a sea of change and the results are there for everyone to see.

The people of neighbouring districts of Balrampur, Maharajganj and friendly nation Nepal will also be able to avail be excellent medical facilities through these new medical colleges established in the eastern UP.

The Government Medical College in Basti has been functional for two years now while Siddharthnagar and Deoria will inaugurate new medical colleges on October 25. Earlier, on October 20 Prime Minister Narendra Modi had laid the foundation stone of Medical College in Kushinagar. In the remaining two districts of the division, Sant Kabirnagar and Maharajganj, the medical colleges on PPP model will be set up. In another significant development, the AIIMS has also been established in Gorakhpur, which will be inaugurated by the PM in the next one-and-a-half months.

The Medical College of Siddharthnagar will be after the name of Madhav Prasad Tripathi, Medical College of Deoria in the name of Maharishi Devraha Baba, Medical College of Ghazipur in the name of Maharishi Vishwamitra, Medical College of Mirzapur in the name of Maa Vindhyavasini, Medical College of Pratapgarh in the name of Dr. Sonelal Patel In name, Medical College of Etah will be in the name of Veerangana Avantibai Lodhi, Medical College of Jaunpur will be run in the name of former Minister Umanath Singh, Medical College of Fatehpur will be run in the name of Amar Shaheed Jodha Singh Ataiya Thakur Dariyaon Singh.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *