Elections: 204 candidates in fray for 8 LS seats for second phase in Maha

Insight Online News

Mumbai, Apr 9 : Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary S Chokkalingam announced that the applications of 299 candidates are eligible, and some of them have withdrawn, so 204204 eligible candidates have been selected for the upcoming election for eight Lok Sabha seats in the second phase of the state.

According to the official press statement issued Monday night, the first phase of the Vidarbha Lok Sabha elections will take place on April 19 in five constituencies, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondia, Gadchiroli-Chimur, and Chandrapur, followed by the second phase on April 26 in eight constituencies, with polling scheduled for April 2024.

Polling will commence in eight constituencies on April 26, including Buldhana, Akola, Amravati, Wardha, Yavatmal-Washim, Hingoli, Nanded, and Parbhani.

The last date for submission of nomination papers for the second phase was April 4, while the last date for withdrawal of nominations was April 8.

Out of 299 eligible nominations, 95 candidates, mostly independents, withdrew their nominations on the last day, leaving 204 candidates in the poll arena, the statement stated.

Around 1 crore 49 lakh voters in eight constituencies will franchise their votes in 16589 polling stations across these constituencies on April 26, the statement added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *