TN LS Polls : BJP inks seat sharing deal with AMMK, NJP, TMMK

Insight Online News

Chennai, Mar 21 : The BJP-led NDA, which is cobbling up a formidable alliance after

its key partner AIADMK had severed its ties, has finalised the seat sharing agreement with

its new found ally, the Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam, besides the New Justice Party

(NJP) and Tamizhaga Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (TMMK) for the ensuing Lok Sabha

polls in Tamil Nadu.

As per the agreement, the BJP, which will be taking on the two Dravidian majors, the ruling

DMK and the AIADMK in the April 19 polls, has allotted two seats to the AMMK headed by

TTV Dhinakaran.

It also allotted one seat each to the fringe parties–the NJP led by A.C.Shanmugam and

the TMMK headed by John Pandian.

The seat-sharing arrangement was signed by BJP State president K. Annamalai with the

respective party leaders on Wednesday evening.

The inking of pact with the three parties comes in the backdrop of the BJP roping in

PMK as a key partner in its front by allotting ten seats to it.

The seat sharing with other allies including ousted AIADMK leader O.Panneerselvam,

Tamil Maanila Congress of G.K.Vasan, and IJK, which has been promised the Perambalur

seat from where its Founder Paarivendhar will seek re-election, will be finalised in the

next one or two days and the constituencies identified.

The BJP’s list of candidates and that of alliance parties were also expected by tomorrow

as the filing of Nominations for the elections has started and would end on March 27.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *