Delhi HC reserves order on suspended 7 BJP MLAs’ plea

Insight Online News

New Delhi, Feb 27 : The Delhi High Court on Tuesday reserved its order on petitions by seven BJP MLAs who were suspended for interrupting Lt. Governor V.K. Saxena’s address at the start of the Budget session.

The seven BJP MLAs — Mohan Singh Bisht, Ajay Mahawar, O.P. Sharma, Abhay Verma, Anil Vajpayi, Jitender Mahajan, and Vijender Gupta — had moved the high court challenging their suspension for the remainder of the Budget session of the Assembly, saying it was maliciously engineered to disable the opposition members from participating in the discussions.

Justice Subramonium Prasad, who is dealing with the case, directed both the parties tkoaxialní kabel hornbach custom baseball uniforms nike air max 90 pallone calcio a 11 welche kaffeemaschine für 1 person costume leopardato triangolo Italy mallas para hombre nike dlm382 aiyuk jersey custom baseball uniforms ćwiczenia na rowerze ipad 2019 hülle mit tastatur und stifthalter adidas yeezy 700 v3 táskafül bőr meia com pompomo file their written submissions.

On February 23, the Assembly authorities had assured that the suspension was not meant to suppress dissent but was a measure of self-discipline in response to misconduct.

It had promised to expedite the privileges committee’s proceedings since on February 22 the court had asked the Delhi Assembly’s Privileges Committee to put on hold its proceedings against the MLAs.

Since the court is hearing the matter on merit, the judge had said that the Committee should not continue with the proceedings.

“Since I have started hearing today, the Privileges Committee should not continue. All further proceedings must be kept in abeyance,” he had said orally to senior counsel appearing for the Assembly.

The court observed that their suspension was resulting in their constituencies going unrepresented in the House.

Earlier, Justice Prasad had also asked the MLAs to meet the Assembly Speaker after Lt. Governor accepted their apology.

The members were suspended for allegedly interrupting the Lt. Governor’s address, highlighting the AAP government’s achievements on February 15.

The MLAs have expressed concerns about their continued suspension and contested recent political comments and messages, indicating a potentially contentious environment.

Senior advocate Jayant Mehta for MLAs had, on February 19, argued that the suspension is unconstitutional and contrary to rules, affecting their right to participate in proceedings.

“This was maliciously engineered to disable the opposition members to participate in the discussions on crucial businesses that were to be discussed and to also exclude them, albeit unconstitutionally, from participating in the Budget Session of the House,” their plea said, adding the move was grossly unconstitutional and even contrary to Rules of Business of the House.

Mehta had said that the motion to suspend them was excessive, advocating a maximum three-day suspension instead of an indefinite one.

AAP MLA Dilip Pandey initiated the resolution for suspension in the House, which Speaker Ram Niwas Goel accepted. The matter was also forwarded to the Privileges Committee. The suspended MLAs, except Leader of Opposition Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, were barred from Assembly proceedings until the committee’s report was received.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *